Peg's Place

Sewing, Reading, Quilting, Embroidery(ing :) ), Running, Writing, Weaving…and the list goes on and on and on…

Grow Your Blog 2014 with a fabric postcard giveaway!

Posted by Peggy McCall on January 25, 2014

sewing 029

Yes….I am participating in the “Grow Your Blog” event this year.  I so enjoyed visiting blogs last year and I made some friends. Vicki from “2 Bags Full” is graciously hosting the event, so be sure to visit her blog to see the list of all the participants.

Note: click on the image for the generous lady behind this endeavour! Vicki has categorized all 600 blogs, so there is a lot of creative eye candy out there.  The event goes until February 15th.  On February 15th, I will be drawing 3 names to win a fabric postcard.  I will make a postcard and send it in the mail to you.  All you have to do is write a comment here on this post.  If you don’t have a blog, make sure that you leave your email address so that I can contact you if you win. Here is an example of a fabric postcard…of course this one has French connection because I live in “La Belle Province”

IMG_1963The ones I make will be completely different but will be totally fabric.

Now onto my blog and I!

Who am I?  I am Peggy and I am a creative sort! I love to create.  I can see the end product before others; actually it kind of bothers me when I work with people who can’t see what the process will become, so disheartening when they don’t understand.  Hence why I blog.  There are so many crafty blogs out there that it is mindboggling!

I live in Quebec, Canada, in the Chicoutimi area.  It is a cold part of Canada in the winter, but beautiful warm summers.  This blog mainly portrays my crafty side but I do have another “active” side.  I run, swim and cycle; in that order.  In fact, I am on my 108th day of consecutive running.  I started out with just trying to see a run everyday on the calendar, for a month but now I am trying to reach 365 days.  I swim twice a week and cycle in the summer.  I still haven’t gotten up the nerve to do a triathlon, but I do see one in my future.  I run marathons too.  An active body is in sync with an active mind.

marathon medals 002My marathon medals.

peg in actionPeggy in action.  I am not a fast runner but I like to run long.  A 3-hour run really puts life in perspective for me.

As for my crafty side, here is what is on my sewing room floor right now:

sewing 020Scraps, scraps and more scraps.  I am working on a few scrappy projects:

first book block 001My “book” blocks need a lot of scraps!

friendship circle start 004My friendship circle and I received my material today :) Yay!

sewing 021Isn’t this beautiful white.  It is called “sugar pearls” (sorry about that little brown spot, a speck of material)

So many projects, so little time!

Today is a good example of how much my head is spinning with projects.  I received some mail:

sewing 023Books; memories in quilts.  This is what I am striving to make.  I have been trying to put pictures onto fabric with no success because the pictures fade to almost invisible after washing.  I received a few products to play with:

sewing 028Bubble Jet Set and Rinse…I am so going to play with this tomorrow!

sewing 022Lesly Riley’s transfer sheets and book! So eager to try that.  Oh..a ruler too ;)

So yes, I am totally full of ideas and projects.  This year I am trying to work on finishes.  I bought a new sewing machine last summer, so it is time to practice my machine quilting.

I tend to do a lot of quilting but I did start with cross stitch and this is what is on one of my frames:

sewing 027I love to sit and stitch.  I do embroidery too and lately I have joined a needlepoint group on facebok and I have been blown away with what needlepoint can produce.  I found this book on my shelf and have tagged a project in it already! ;)

sewing 026Isn’t it beautiful?

Fibre! I love it! I did try to paint once because I thought it would be neat to combine the two, but alas, painting is so not my forté.  I will stick to fabric and threads and create!

What do you create? Are you like me and have your hands in many crafts or do you stick to one?

So now make a comment to win yourself some interesting mail.  A fabric quilted postcard is much better than a bill!

These are a few postcards that I have received and one that I made.

I love making postcards.

I will leave you with some postcard inspiration; some mine and others I have received.

photo(9)

I hope that you will follow me.  The button is up on the right.

Thanks for visiting.

37 Responses to “Grow Your Blog 2014 with a fabric postcard giveaway!”

  1. Shelly Cooper said

    Love your postcards! you are such an active person, how do you find time to do everything? That jellyfish postcard so reminds me of my summers in PEI- some days you couldn’t see water for jellyfish and others only one or two leisurely floating by.
    Shelly

  2. Beth said

    hi there, i’m Beth from “E. Lizard Breath Speaks” & a “Grow Your Blog” party volunteer, i’m helping Vicki out by visiting several of the blogs from the link up. so many folks to see & we volunteers are all working together to check you guys out. i want to welcome to the party!!! i sure hope you are having a great day. be sure to go check out some great blogs. there are so many to see. ( :

    i love swimming. your postcards are amazing. i love sending postcards through postcrossing . com – i have lots in my collection but none as amazing as all your hard work there. too cute. so nice to meet you & i wish you had happy weekend.

  3. Trina said

    That add-a-quarter ruler is one of my most favourite paper piecing tools!!

  4. pegsplace said

    And it is so timelt Trina! I am doing a lot of paperpiecing with my book blocks.

  5. pegsplace said

    Thanks Beth. So nice of you to visit. Not all the postcards are mine but I do draw my inspiration from my exchanges. Keep on swimming! Thank you for volunteering in this great blog event. As a runner, I know the importance of volunteers.

  6. pegsplace said

    Hi Shelly, thanks for stopping by. I find that in order to create I need to run (swim or other cardio) so that I can relax. It takes planning and being careful not to get caught up in habits. The jelly fish card was in an exchange….It is besutiful, one of my favourites because it is so untradional. Cool that you spent summers in PEI. That is the only province I have never been to. So pretty.

  7. Mary Anm said

    So fun to see the different directions your interests are taking you. The printing on fabric project looks like a lot of fun! I liked seeing your hexies. I am working on my first hexie project too!

  8. pegsplace said

    Thanks Mary Ann! I would love to see your hexie project. Do you have a blog?

  9. Brittany said

    Your blog is wonderful!!! I am so glad that I found it via the Grow Your Blog party. Thank you for the chance to win one of those amazingly cute fabric postcards!

  10. Régina said

    From the look of your floor you are a person after my own heart, although I am a complete slouch compared to you! Drop me a line if ever you want to exchange fabric postcards.

  11. Caroline said

    Looks like you have a lot of fun new things to try out. I always love learning and playing with new things. Wow, your marathon accomplishments blow me away! Keep running. So nice to meet you.

    Hugs
    Caroline

  12. Greetings from St. John’s, Newfoundland, Canada. Looks like you are a busy lady!!

  13. pegsplace said

    Thanks Judy….yep….busy is my middle name!

  14. pegsplace said

    Marathoning keeps me sane….well running does. It is just one foot in front of the other IN EVERYTHING…Nice meeting you too Caroline!

  15. pegsplace said

    Thanks Régina for the offer of exchanging postcards. I picked up my mess by the way…bought a special laundry basket that stays in my sewing room fro when I want to empty my scrapbag and rummage ;)

  16. pegsplace said

    Nice meeting you too Brittany. I’ll be over your way soon!

  17. You are quite busy! My brother runs 1/2 marathons, & has run a couple marathons. This summer he is competing in his 1st triathlon.

    Thanks for sharing your blog! I’m still trying to work through the list… Please feel free to visit my embroidery blog (in the 1st part of the list).

    aprilsongstress

  18. Beulah said

    Your work room looks so fun and inviting! I would not come out for hours!!! Enjoy your creative time!!!

  19. Sarah O. said

    Busy busy busy! And a marathon to boot!

  20. Jeannette said

    Really enjoyed your post and pictures. Congratulations on all of your medals! I just started following and look forward to your future posts :)

  21. thistlecovefarm said

    The work of your hands and heart is amazing! Visiting via Vicki’s GYBP and enjoyed reading your post…a 3 hour run…I am totally impressed!

  22. Kathy h said

    Good to meet you on your blog. Great postcards. I like to make them too but haven’t made many yet. So nice to see some inspiration.

  23. Evalina said

    Hello from Yukon! I hope you’re enjoying this party as much as I do :)
    Evalina, This and that…

  24. buntyw said

    Hi Peggy
    Good to meet you – I’m visiting from England!
    I love your postcards!

  25. Judy said

    Love your postcards. I also swim and walk but cycling is not for me. Way to go doing all three. What commitment. It is nice to get to know a little about you here. Happy hopping!

  26. Suzy said

    Hi Peggy
    Wonderful to see so much enthusiasm with your quilting, new projects e.g artist transfer paper etc.
    Your postcards look fantastic. Enjoy the party! I too have a Giveaway that you may enjoy made from vintage laces and fabrics.
    Suzy

  27. hula~la said

    Well that is quite a stash of fabrics you have there! And I love the fabric postcards! It is great fun to get something beautiful in the mail! Stopping by along the blog party route…hope you’ll stop by for a visit to see what I make! Aloha

  28. Wow, that is a lot of creativity going on there! Put my name in for the draw, too, please. Love your scrap heap. I try to keep mine contained in clear plastic bins, but sometimes they misbehave and take over the house!

  29. pegsplace said

    Thanks for visiting Gill. Do you have a blog?

  30. Judith said

    I LOVE scrap quilts. I have made many in my time. Glad to have stopped by to meet you, Hope you enjoy the party thru GYB.

  31. jackie said

    Nice blog. I love your postcards. Please enter me in your drawing. Jackie

  32. hi, glad to ‘meet’ you , following by email

  33. I am very pleased to get acquainted with you and your great blog through the GYB party. I am impressed with your quilting projects. The postcards are wonderful. The Bubble Jet caught my eye. I wish our local craft store carried it, as I would buy a bottle and try it out. Have you tried it out yet and, if so, did it really work?

    I have been inspired to do more quilting than I have done in the past, after seeing all the wonderful blogs about quilting. Sewing is second nature to me and I have been sewing for as long as I can remember(that is a long time). Even though I am a grandmother of 5 great kids, I still look for new things to create and ways to be creative. Learning new things is what keeps me going. It is what makes my clock tick, if you will.

    I enjoyed my visit here today and will be following your posts to keep up with what is going on in your world. I hope you will take a moment to check things out on my site!

  34. Lija said

    What a novel idea … fabric postcards! I always wanted to paint one … they have little watercolour albums to make them with everything preprinted on the other side. But I decided against it … what if a card gets wet in the post?! Ruined!

    Enjoy the party!

    Lija
    http://stitchingincrossesandmore.blogspot.co.uk/

  35. Overboard Creations said

    Wow I love my visit. Didn’t realize that there is so much going on in cyber world. Forgive me for coming to the party at the last minute, But 600 blog reading was a little tasking. I wanted to read and get to know the girls so I did read everyone’s bio. Your my 576 blog and 24 hours left to go. If you like come visit My site http://overboardcreations.blogspot.com/and contact info is http://ovr_brd@yahoo.com I believe inspiration comes from all facets of life even knowing the great people out there with wisdom and knowledge the do’s and don’ts and even the wonders of life from a personal point of view. I liked you following you on goggle connect and Bloglovin you. hope to see you in the cyber neighborhood I am new to blogging so I don’t have a lot posted because I got side tract with GYB party. Kind of felt it was important to have some one read my silly chatter. I can’t remember a time I didn’t dabble in something creative. I tried a little of everything. But, my new love these days is Card making I just love it.

  36. RedSetter said

    Hi Peggy, I’m still getting round GYB blogs. What a great blog you have and I look forward to visiting again.
    Love and best
    RedSetter
    Craft blog http://gonebeading.blogspot.co.uk/
    Cat blog http://pepsimaxaddict.blogspot.co.uk/

  37. Hi Peg–thanks so much for visiting me via the GYBP :) It’s been a lot of fun hasn’t it? You’ve got a lot of projects going–they all look great. So glad to be meeting you, Diana

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

