Peg's Place

Sewing, Reading, Quilting, Embroidery(ing :) ), Running, Writing, Weaving…and the list goes on and on and on…

Paperpiecing books with cats!

Posted by pegsplace on January 29, 2014

2nd book 001Actually, from a distance they do seem like a pile of books… :).  I like to paperpiece but there is a tedious par  with this pattern.  Maybe someone out there could give me some advice or point me to a tutorial etc.

Here is my problem:

photo 4Where the heck to we place the diagonal between the short and long pieces? For example between 2 (short piece) and 3 (long piece).  I waste so much material in the placement of the diagonal.  I just keep trying and ripping until it works and then I don’t know what I did.  Here are some more pictures:

photo 3photo 1So now I’m psyched to finish this book block tonight…one book block a week and I will have a huge library!

Has anyone else done a book quilt? I can’t wait until the embellishment phase.

I am linking up to the Needle and Thread Network  fibre group.  Always fun to see what is on everyone’s table.

4 Responses to “Paperpiecing books with cats!”

  1. You know what I do when I’m not certain that my fabric is going to land right? I sew it on a with a basting stitch first, check it, and then if I have to rip it out, it doesn’t take much effort (rather than ripping the world’s smallest stitches ever!). It does make kind of twice the work, but it saves a lot of aggravation if something does wind up on the wrong angle or whatever.

  2. Régina said

    That seems to be a very intricate block! I have only limited paper-piecing experience, but have found that I enjoy this technique more if I relax about the inherent “wastefulness” compared to piecing.

  3. pegsplace said

    Yep, very intricate this one and I have procrastinated so much with it :(

  4. Chantal said

    For paper piecing, when having the same shape multiples times, I usually made a pattern for it, with a 1/4″ seam allowance. It makes the placing really more easy.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 25 other followers

