Baking and Stitching…

Bubblebread Gifts
Bubblebread Gift

These are my loaves of bubblebread.  The recipe (this link will take you to the recipe on the net..”Taste of Home” magazine is owned by the company that puts out one of my FAVOURITE magazines…”Country Woman.“) makes two and since I made two last week, one for a department luncheon and the other we snacked on, one of these went to my MIL (who absolutely adores this and it is ONE thing that she can eat.) The other went to a friend who ordered this most excellent loose tea.  I went down to pick it up and  I figured that since she was entertaining guests for Christmas tomorrow, that she would appreciate a loaf.  She has.  And now, I am sipping some that excellent loose tea, the “Christmas Blend.”  It is from a place called Murchies in BC.  It is soooooooooooo good!I can’t wait to open up my bag of #10!  Over the last few months I have been getting acquainted with many of the loose teas that I can find.

Here is what the bubblebread looks like:

Bubblebread revealed
Bubblebread revealed

The one on the right is when it is emptied out of the bundt tin, but I prefer the look of the one on the left.  These are scrumptious and perfect for brunches and it is bread that can easily be pulled off and eaten because it is formed by a lot of 1-inch balls, with the cherries inserted on the outside. Just to let you know, for those of my family who might be reading this…if I lived closer, you would all get one of these…I think that they are a mainstay of any Christmas day!  Oh…and I looked at the date of my magazine for when I started making them….1999! 🙂  Bread like this combined with a marshmallow fruit salad=Christmas morning.  (Note…I googled until I found the recipe that I use and it is a coincidence that I came up with Taste of Home again…this recipe calls for nuts….I’ve never put nuts in mine…but there is always a first if no one is allergic).

Now for the stitchery.  It is a quilted wall-hanging that I did in a workshop at the beginning of December.  It is almost finished but I really don’t like my slipstitch, therefore it sits, waiting.  I really enjoyed stitching it up, a combination of paperpiecing and quilting.  So, I am still in my creative mode.

In case I don’t get on here tomorrow:

Merry Christmas!

or as the French say:

Joyeux Noel!

One thought on “Baking and Stitching…”

Leave a Reply

