Always the same story…

…busy, busy, busy.   But the good news is that I am still on track with sewing and being creative!  I just haven’t had the time to be patient with my verrrrry slow computer! :(…

000_0345 Today was a quilting day.  My guild had a “free quilting” day today; where whoever wants to get together with their machines and projects do so.  I made these…”Birds in the Air” blocks.  I am doing an Underground Railroad Quilt with some women from the Canadian Quilter’s Guild (Internet Yahoo Group).  There are 12 of us participating in the UGRR  swap.  We each have 2 kinds of blocks and must make 12 of each.  We send them to the person in charge and we get 24 different blocks at the end…to do with as we please.  The UGRR is how message were passed to help slaves escape.  I found this pattern for the “Birds in the Air” block at Quilter’s Cache.  I’m particpating in the swap because I want to practice making basic quilt blocks and believe me, making 12 of these is a lesson in perseverance; working on the accuracy is very hard.  I still have to tweak a few of these blocks but I am getting better as I go.  I have the material cut and ready for the next six or seven.  My 2nd block is the  Crossroads block. I am staying with basic colours as per guidelines; using what I have on hand.

I was spoiled today.  My husband cleaned the house; washed floors etc and was making supper and pies when I got home after a WHOLE day of quilting! :)….

Well, off to have a bath…Tired.

I hope to be back sooner than I have been!

Leave a Reply

