Old WIP…kind of…

Back in 1996/1997 it took over  a year to complete, I made this afghan for my niece, my god-daughter.  It was done in cross stitch:

Claudia'a blanket
Claudia'a blanket

I use 18 count Afghan Cloth and verrrry tiny stitches, over the one square. (farther back in my blog, you will see another of these afghans but one stitch equalled 4 squares).  I have taken this out because I gave it to the recipient but as my niece grew she had her milestones and I have to stitch the dates.  I also want to finish it by using my quilting skills because right now it is simply backed with material…I’d like to do a border or something.

Here are some pictures of each of the individual blocks…click on them to see how small the stitches are….:

Birthdate block
Birthdate block
1st Outing
1st Outing
My first words
My first words
Standing up
Standing up
Sleep through the night
Sleep through the night
Roll over
Roll over
First haircut
First haircut
First tooth
First tooth

Crawling
Crawling

And there are more blocks.  I really enjoyed doing this.  When I do these huge projects, the recipient is always on my mind…..and for most of this one, she wasn’t even born….I kept thinking of what kind of little girl was coming into the world.

Leave a Reply

