Have camera…will do tutorial…

I wanted to try a yo yo technique; a hexagon.  I have a small tin of 3 sisters moda fabric squares (5 x 5).  So I puttered around doing a practice set.

This is the backside of the yo-yo:

1_ Hexagon yoyo
1 - Hexagon yo-yo

The first step is to copy the hexagon shape onto the fabric (pick the size you want…mine is for a 5 x 5 inch block)

2 - Template
2 - Template

Now fold a point over to the middle…it kind of looks like an envelope.

3 - Fold 1
3 - Fold 1

Then, fold a second point over to the middle.

4 - Fold 2
4 - Fold 2

Now, fold the last point over to the middle.

5 - Fold 3
5 - Fold 3

Fold each point to the centre.

6 - Fold 3 triangles to centre
6 - Fold 3 triangles to centre

And voila, you have the yo-yo!  Tack the points together.

7 - 3 points meet
7 - 3 points meet

Add a button and you have the front of the yo-yo.

8 - Add a button
8 - Add a button

Handsew them by rows and add the rows together (I haven’t decided how I want to place my colours yet)

What is nice about this yo-yo technique is that you don’t need a backing.  I’m going to check out other options instead of a button for the middle.  I find that the buttons would be too hard.  Any ideas?  I’m thinking something with embroidery.

9 - Sew together in rows
9 - Sew together in rows

This is the kit I have.  I love the colours but I’m not too fond about that button idea.  I’m still not sure if I will continue and do the yo-yos or simpley sew the squares together because that would make an awesome quilt too!

Faded memories kit
Faded memories kit

I hope that you enjoyed my first ever tutorial.  There are similar ones out there so, no, I didn’t invent the wheel :).

One thought on “Have camera…will do tutorial…”

Leave a Reply

