Christmas baking for a Gingerbread House Party!

The gingerbread "lumber"These are the pieces to make miniature  gingerbread houses.  I have made 10 set because I have 3 nieces and 1 nephew who are coming tomorrow to build their own gingerbread houses! I used to do this many years ago when I was a kindergarten teacher and then through my two sons’ formative years.  We always had fun and a few weeks ago, my younger son and I were reminiscing about the good times we had with this activity that we decided to do it for my nieces and nephew.  There is a hick and it was a BIG one.  One of my nieces is allergic to gluten AND nuts! :(…and I wanted to include her so these houses are very expensive.  I went out and got all the ingredients to make gluten/nut free gingerbread houses.  My niece is very happy to be included in a fun project like this.  I got together with her mother and we have scads of treats to decorate the houses!  I will post pictures after the event.

I am so tired right now.  I started baking at 3:00…and I have the last of the cookies in the oven, made all the house parts and then made different forms of cookies.  All ready for decorating tomorrow!

Socks and dogs!
Socks and Dogs
Trees!
Bells!

Oh and I will leave you with the other project that is taking up time and NOT letting me decorate :(…but 🙂 happy that it is done:

Staircase railing

The house is full of dust!  Ah renos!  I may be able to decorate by Friday…..we’ll see.

3 thoughts on “Christmas baking for a Gingerbread House Party!”

  1. Now just you put your feet up and take things easy.
    What a wonderful idea for the littlies…. can I come and be a little person with you lol
    love the house reno. Just take things easy.

  2. Oh we had fun!

    We are simply going to varnish the railing and the stairs. It matches the flooring. Probably after Christmas. We still have a bit of finishing to do before…it never ends!

Leave a Reply

