WIP, new kits and Christmas is over

Picture heavy! You know you haven’t blogged often enough when you want to post all your pictures, but I lost everything and am now just finding the time to get everything back onto my computer.

Backstitching design

I am forcing myself to sit quietly and stitch in the evenings….finishing the backstitch on this design.  It has been on the fram for far too long.  It is a project that I started with no goal in mind but I think I know what to do with it now!

Walmart Kit #1
Walmart kit #2

I picked up these two kits at the Walmart in Montreal (There are no quilting kits or material in the nearby Walmarts). The first kit makes 4 different projects but enough fabric for two; a wallhanging, an apron, a messenger bag and pillow.  I really like the messenger bag and I see a few in my future :).  The second kit is for a small lap quilt, but the directions don’t call for batting :(…might be playing with that one.  I loved the colours of it!

Stamped quilt blocks

I went into a used goods shop (Value Village) and saw these kits.  I have always wanted to do one of these stamped cross stitch kits but didn’t want to spend scads of money.  These were a bargain.  I saw my stitcher do some stamped pillowcases and it looked fun to do so…..:).  I’m thinking that I will probably do it is pink, like the picture.

And since I only put up my tree two days before Christmas, here it is before I take it down:

Christmas Tree 2009

So many handmade ornaments on this tree! I love it.

Here is a picture of my fireplace….didn’t get to put our family stockings on it this year but hoping for next!

New fireplace decorated

I love my boxes next to the fireplace.  I have now organized all my ornaments in them!

And here is my blue poinsetta! I have never seen one before and this one was saying “Peggy, Peggy, Peggy”

Blue Poinsetta 2009

And do you notice our nice new banister! 🙂

Hopefully I will post more often, get into the habit…take the time to make the time!

2 thoughts on “WIP, new kits and Christmas is over”

  1. glad your health is improving you must look after yourself.
    Love the way your house is looking.
    A blue poinsetta! I have a beautiful red one, never seen a blue one, must watch out. Happy New Year and may it be very healthy and prosperous. hugs sheila

  2. Love your Christmas decorations! I’ve never seen blue poinsettias, how do they make them blue?! :)I used to do stamped cross-stitch too, but prefer counted cross-stitching. The stitching you are working on is great! 🙂

Leave a Reply

