How to work on a Hexagon Assembly Line!

So…I have started on the hexagon journey and that means being prepared, any time, any place and with anybody.  I asked my good friend Jen to give me some tips and here is what I have come up with.

Step #1: Photocopy A LOT of sheets of hexagons:

hexagon steps 001

I have the file because I downloaded it but you can get it at this link and they also give a few ideas on how to go about making hexagons.

Step #2: Fold and staple the a WHOLE bunch of paper templates:

hexagon steps 002

Step #3: Cut out the hexagon templates:

hexagon steps 003

Lots and lots ready for the next step.

Step #4: Take the staples out and put holes in the middle and make bundles of hexagons, ready and waiting.  The holes will be useful for taking out the paper pieces after stitching:

hexagon steps 004

Step #5: Now since I am using 2 1/2 inch strips, I can get 18 hexagons from one strip.  Pin hexagons on strip:

hexagon steps 005

Pin on the backside of course.

Step #6: Cut out the hexagons, leaving a 1/4 inch seam allowances.  If postioned correctly, can simply cut on the diagonal between the hexies:

hexagon steps 006

All cut out and ready to stitch!

Step #7: When finished stitching, dump into a visually appealing container, so you can play with them as you accumulate.

hexagon steps 007

You really have to check out my friend Jen’s hexagons and what she has gotten non-quilters doing.  She sure has rallied the troops!

Well, I am off to sew me some hexagons.  Let me know if you are doing this too!

4 thoughts on “How to work on a Hexagon Assembly Line!”

Leave a Reply

