Fabric Organization!

I have been so busy with Julie’s quilt that I haven’t done a lot of other things and one reason is I have to enter fabric madness when I want to find THE fabric! I did some checking online and found a neat way to organize fabric.  So many quilters are using comic book boards.  No kidding! I had no idea! Here are some blogs that have touted this technique:

Cut to Pieces

That Girl

Fave Quilts

Sugar Tart Crafts

There are quite a few tutorials on the net.  Here is mine!

Going from messy to snazzy!

messy cupboardsNotice the messy top part? Well, the comic book board method makes my cupboards look like a quilt store! My mini quilt store! So neat and tidy.  The best thing…well, one of the best things is that when I pull out a fabric, I don’t have to refold all the fabric around it, nothing gets messy!

Here are my steps and hints! I ordered 300  (they usually come in packs of 100 for about $9) I used my first 300 and I wrapped all 1/2 meter and more! the smaller pieces I will cut my boards in two and wrap!

The comic boards! Oh and they are archival safe….

fabric folding tutorial 016The comic book boards are 7 X 10 1/2 inches.  The have ones for magazines but I think this one is perfect! I have put up to  5 meters on them.

fabric folding tutorial 019Fold fabric selvedge to selvedge.  Tip: make sure that the “selvedge” writing is facing down onto the table because when you roll the bolt, you will be able to see it!

fabric folding tutorial 020Fold over a little bit of material and start rolling and imagine that you work in your own quilt store!

fabric folding tutorial 021Keeep rolling and if your material is really wrinkly, either iron first or hand iron the the wrinkles.  Doesn’t this look cool?

fabric folding tutorial 022 Ta da! But not quite finished!

fabric folding tutorial 023Fold over the fabric, to make it neat and then pin!

fabric folding tutorial 024Tip for pinning…thanks to Jen! Pin like you would normally but then insert the pin another time but don’t bring it back out, so that it stays hidden and doesn’t prick you!

fabric folding tutorial 026Beautiful! “Flowers” to my eyes!

fabric folding tutorial 027300 bolts here….basics and novelties :).  I still have all my christmas fabric, batiks and Thimbleberries to do.  I am also going to make stickers and start labeling! ;).What fun this is!

Now tell me how far behind the times Iam and that you are all doing this! Will I be more productive? I think yes because I have been reconnecting with long lost fabric that has been hidden under piles. In my defence I was rather organized but got lazy in the refolding department.

I am linking up the The Needle and Thread Network…it’s been too long!

13 thoughts on “Fabric Organization!”

  1. have you ever been working hard, I just can’t wait for my boards then I will see how little of a stash I have and will have an excuse to go shopping with you 🙂 I like the way you did the tutorial, looks really good, did you say”oh I really like this one!” at each piece? 😉 I agree looks very snazzy!!!

  2. I haven’t put my on the boards yet, but I did just finish folding it all and organizing it. I plan on putting it on boards as I pull it out, that way I can see what I’m not using and get rid of it. LOL

  3. The cleaned up stash looks great! I really need to get mine sorted, soon. I find it easier to work in a clean space, but have a really hard time putting in the work to straighten things up!

  4. I have considered doing this as well but hadn’t seen anyone use the comic book boards – thanks for sharing! It’s a great idea! I may be swung over to investing the time to do this yet…..it is true that it is an opportunity to re-assess and reconnect with buried fabric!

Leave a Reply

