December 1st

image1st Mitten.  Isn’t it cute? Next year I will fill them.  This year I will be adding one Christmas memory a day.

Well, I have jumped on the bandwagon and I am making my very first mystery quilt BLIND! I have done them before, but only after I saw the whole pattern.  This one is from Bonnie Hunter, the queen of reigning in the scaps.  She is doing the Grand Illusion.

Grand Illusion

The first clue was given on Friday and she has suggested to starte each clue, even if we haven’t finished the whole stage yet.  That is what I have opted to do.

imageI’m not sure if my yellow is too soft but she did mention cornflower, so…

I did my first test block and I have made adjusments. My half square triangles were coming out too small:

imageI am loving it! If you feel that you are up for the challenge, head on over to the Grand Illusion.  I usually wait until these events subside, but after seeing last year’s Celtic Solstice mystery quilt, I am IN!

I am linking up to Bonnie’s Grand Illusion Link UP: Part #1.  Go on, I dare you to take a peek!

7 thoughts on “December 1st”

  1. Not the “quilt police” here… But just checking that you are aware the square you show has pink to the center like Bonnie’s first issue of clue and she later changed to aqua in center.

  2. Aw shoot your block is right and beautiful. I’m an idiot. But a happy and embarrassed one sorry

  3. Hi Peg, I saw last nights blog and only the first pic on this blog, wow did I even miss your beautiful colours. I can’t wait to see the blocks. But I am amazed that you are following along 😉 mystery quilts are soon much fun this way. Keep us updated on your progress.

Leave a Reply

