Going around in circles

blog 2

I am working on my Grand Illusion quilt and becoming addicted to machine quilting, even if it is with my walking foot; building up the courage to stipple.

Since I am a newbie for free motion quilting I have opted to do circles in each of the 25 main blocks.  I really like the effect but have to avert my eyes when it jags.  If any of you out there have done this and have any tips, I would greatly appreciate them. This is my 6th block and I am getting better. I know that when I wash it the quilt will shrink and I the jags won’t be that noticeable.  Even now when I look back over my other blocks, I hardly notice them.

I am doing the circles with my walking foot and it is painstakingly slow but gratifying when I see the result.  I do draw the first line and then I start sewing at the the horizontal line; stitch the circle and when I get back to the line I pivot the quilt and take 5 stitches (the width of the circles) and then pivot back to do next circle.  I continue in this way and only have two tie offs.  I have the stitch length at 3.5 and for the most part the stitches are even.

blog 3

 

I love my backing, even though it is not the same green as on the front.  It is so cool to the touch.  The back of the quilt could be another quilt.

blog1

 

Just amazingly snuggly!

Brigitte, si tu lis mon blog et tu ad des idées ou des trucs ….:)…je pratique mon stippling pour entre mes blocs! J’adore le processus du piquage!

8 thoughts on “Going around in circles”

  1. Hello,
    J’aime beaucoup le résultat ….si en plus tu réunis les cercles avec un micro stepling le résultat sera certainement magnifique. Je suis bien contente que tu découvres le plaisir de piquer….
    A bientôt
    Brigitte
    Envoyé de mon iPad

    >

  2. Your circles are looking pretty great! That’s a thing I haven’t decided to take on trying, just yet… just turning the quilt so much would drive me crazy! I’ll have to do it on something small, I guess. Anyway, I love that idea of doing circles over the individual blocks rather than one bit circle over the entire quilt (which is what I’ve seen most often). It’s going to look incredible once it’s finished.

  3. Thanks Kristel. I am really going one stitch at a time, slow going but pays off and I only have the odd jag. I’m hoping that it will look good when it is finished 😉

Leave a Reply

