Hexagons…auditioning

IMG_6361

I went shopping last week and found this beautiful white fabric for my grandmother’s garden hexagon quilt.  I loved it but now I am noticing that if I want to use it I will have to be careful with the placement because of the design direction :(. Do I use it or choose a white with no direction.

I did a lot of hexagons yesterday; these white and then I started my hexagon swap hexies of 30s.

I went shopping on Friday and bought some sewing essentials!

IMG_6336

I fell in love with the white and bought 2 yards of it (backing size).  One-sided fusible interfacing to see if it is a good weight for glue applique.  That dark blue was a the rest of the bolt that I saw when I was waiting for my friend. It is dangerous when you wait for a friend in a fabric store ;).  Anyhow, I had some of this blue in my stash but had run out so…what’s a girl with a stash to do? Snapped it up. I bought some guiterman thread to try out for my hexagon flowers.  I am curious .  Oh, and that is a pattern for a top that I would like to make.  Fun shopping day with my friend Jen!

Summer time means birds in my yard and this little fellow found a perch on the front porch chair:

IMG_6359I

I am linking up with The Needle and Thread Network blog. Always lots of inspiration over there!

3 thoughts on “Hexagons…auditioning”

  1. Your hexagons are coming along nicely, even though the pattern on the white might cause some pause.

    Thanks for posting to TN&TN’s WIP Wednesday!

Leave a Reply

