Handquilting

I started with this:

P1020210

My christmas quilt.  Jen and I put this on my frame back in January and I really haven’t had time to work on it. So I pulled it out.  I also got out all my tools:

So I started to quilt on the frame and I like to quilt coming towards me and since I am just a budding handquilter, I was having difficulty going sideways.  I am stitching in the ditch around the stem:

P1020216

I can’t wait to use my christmas stencils as fillers!  So, back to the dilemma.  I took the quilt off the frame.  Sorry Jen.  It is in the hoop and it is really relaxing to stitch:

P1020217

I think that it will be better this way. I will be able to take it with me when I visit Jen.  On her good days she can give me tips.  She is the queen of handquilting.  I just love watching her hands quilt. She is the one who taught me. We handquilted a quilt together a few years ago. It was so fun:

julie quilt finished 003

Memories! Good memories! Quilty Jen memories.  So, now I am back to handquilting.

It has been ages, but I am going to link up with The Needle and Thread Network

2 thoughts on “Handquilting”

Leave a Reply

