A Quilter’s funeral

5.jpg

I went to my best friend’s funeral today and my eyes are sore from crying. I helped in setting up the viewing and I am really proud that we got it right for Jen.  This is a bowl full of her hexagon collection.  The note describes how Jen loved her hexagons and to ask her friends and family to take one or more so that they would have a memory of her. She once gave me a bucket full of hexies and called it a “bucket full of smiles.”  The bowl is sitting on her first hexagon quilt, called “Odyssey;” 100s of 1/2inch hexies sewing to make a galaxy; Jen’s own pattern.  The quilting was perfect.

4.jpg

Here is the whole table with her basket.  She brought that basket everywhere and she had so many projects ready to work on; hexies, spinning wool, knitting etc.

2.jpg

This is her urn and more of her; her motivation quilt that I made her which included messages from her friends and family.  Her husband made the urn out of a maple tree that he and Jen found in the yard.  It is of course in the shape of a hexagon with a big smile engraved on one side and flowers on another. So beautiful and heartfelt.

1.jpg

My Jen, Jen, Jen: the friend who was present and there for me in all my endeavours. I will miss her and I know that she will always be close to me, pushing me to live authentically.

6 thoughts on “A Quilter’s funeral”

  1. Peg so sorry for your loss- I know that she knew she was well loved and will be missed. So difficult for all of you who loved her dearly. May you and all those who loved her be surrounded by caring and kindness in the days ahead. With sincere sympathy, Regards Anna McCurdy

  2. Bonjour,
    Je suis vraiment triste de n’avoir pas pu être présente pour ce dernier homage à Jennifer.Les photos que tu as placées sur ton blog sont magnifiques et tout cela ressemble tellement à Jennifer …c’est comme si elle était là…pour toi sa très chère amie je t’offre mes sympathies et Je t’embrasse.

    Brigitte

    Envoyé de mon iPad

Leave a Reply

